KUHeS awards researchers during 1st ever Research Dissemination Conference

During the first ever research dissemination conference, the Kamuzu University of Health Sciences (KUHeS) and its affiliates Malaria Alert Communicable Disease Action Centre (MAC CDAC), Malawi Liverpool Welcome MLW programme, Centre for Reproductive Health (CRH), Blantyre Malaria Project (BMP) and Malawi Epidemiology and Intervention Research Unit (MEIRU) announced that it would hold its first ever awards for research excellence. The excellence awards recognised two researchers (one male and one female) who have made astounding contributions to innovation, research, publications, mentorship, funding and policy change in the past year (1st October 2021 to 31st September 2022).

Chairman for the organizing committee for the Research Dissemination Dr. Benjamin Kumwenda said as a new University, it believed in acknowledging cutting edge research and reveling hardworking and upcoming and prominent researchers as part of motivating staff and students.

“It is imperative to award these researchers; these awards will go a long way in serving as a motivation to other researchers and upcoming researchers to work hard in their respective fields” Said Kumwenda.

The research excellence award was given in recognition of KUHeS and its affiliates staff who made significant and astounding impact in the field of research through their professional and mentorship accomplishments. The awardees were those that had earned the respect and admiration of professional colleagues, the general student body and general public.

Apart from the excellence awards, the conference also held an award ceremony to appreciate those that had made good oral and poster presentations. These were categorized into Undergraduate, postgraduate and PhD.

In the end, the following emerged winners and were awarded medals, certificates and cash prizes.


Female category: Dr. Linda Alinane Mipando

Male Category: Professor Henry Mwandumba.


Best PhD Oral Presenter: Riches Nicolas

Best Poster presenter PhD: Letisha Suwedi

Best Masters Oral presenter: Prince Nyumwa

Best Masters Poster Presenter: Symon Chiumia

Best Undergraduate Oral Presenter: Nellie Namale

Best Undergraduate Poster Presenter: Edwin Lisimba